Friendship

Today I want to talk about big changes. About a year ago I took a leap of faith and decided to take a walk on the wild side. And by wild I mean the Netherlands and by side I mean University. In retrospective for an eastern European with dreams and determination that was quite an easy task. One thing changed forever though. It was not a forgotten love affair, or some family trouble, it was not about meeting new people or even the study. It was my relationship to all of my old friends. It surprised me with whom I remained close, but what mostly surprised me was who I did not remain close with. I suppose everyone has had a best friend at one point in their lives. Well at the beginning of last year I had two and now I have none. I have nothing but a bitter taste at the thought of how we lost each other. The most painful events are always the most unexpected ones. Someone who was once more a sister than a stranger all of a sudden became unknown and inexplicable. It is useless to fight the urge of change dictated by time and believe me I did struggle. In the end all one can truly do is let go of the past, embrace the future and make better friends. Which leads me to the first part. The unexpected. This past year I learnt that love can come from the strangest of places, that friendships come to be by pure coincidence or even that one shady bet that a certain girlfriend did not approve of at first. I am grateful for all of the changes in my life because they led me to who I am now and I could not be more happy. Well, except for the fact that uni starts tomorrow but that’s a story for another day.

Leave a Reply

